3-Layer Mini Chocolate Cake

Nothing makes me happier than entertaining people. I love to host guests!!!! Of course it gives me the chance to practice my baking skills 🙂 Tomorrow my brother, sister-in-law, and niece are coming over for dinner, and all 3 of them love chocolate cake. My 1.5-year-old niece can eat an entire cake if you gave it to her!

A few months back, Eric gave me 3 mini spring-form pans for our anniversary. I had initially planned on making mini cheesecakes, but I didn’t have any cream cheese. So I decided to make a mini 3-layer cake instead. It would feed 4 people and I won’t have leftovers. I used my chocolate cake recipe, and a basic dark chocolate icing recipe.

I actually think it turned out great! The cake is fantastic, and the icing turned out decadent. I wanted to try this because I know I have a lot of improvement in my cake decorating. Surprisingly, I don’t hate how I did! I have much to improve on, but this wasn’t that bad. I added shaved chocolate to the top, and drizzled chocolate as well. I garnished it with some strawberries. Tadaa!!

choco-cake-1-082015 choco-cake-20082015

Hopefully the family likes it tomorrow!

Results:

Cake: A
Icing: A-
Decorating: B

Leave a Reply

