Strawberries n cream crumb cake

I’ve been buying a lot of berries lately in my attempt to replace my unhealthy snacks with something a little better for me. While I stuff myself with as many berries as possible, I always have leftover! It’s such a waste to throw perfectly good fruit out, so I decided to find a good recipe to use the rest of my strawberries. After some googling around, I settled on the Strawberry N Cream Crumb Cake from Sally’s Baking Addiction. It sounded delicious, and I had all the right ingredients without having to take a trip to the grocery store.

Recipe here.

A warning: I didn’t use a springboard pan, I just used a pie plate and it turned out great! Basically, it’s a “5” layer cake. The first layer is the cake. Next comes a cream cheese lining followed by a layer of strawberries, then the crumb toping, and finally a glaze on top. I followed the recipe pretty straightforward. The only part I had a little trouble with was the glaze. For some reason, glazes and drizzles are my nemesis. Mine was too liquidy this time! Tips are welcome.

Here is how it turned out:

strawberry-creamcheese-crumb-cake

It tastes awesome!! I originally thought the cream cheese and top part would be thicker, but I’m happy it’s actually not as thick. It is still so rich and creamy and adds a perfect amount of luxury to the cake.

Grades

Taste: B+ (could use a little more cream cheese…. I like mine loaded!)

consistency: A- …. so moist!

I will definitely be making this again!

Leave a Reply

