Cupcakes in Flower Pots!

One of my favorite places to go to eat/shop around me is a little place called Terrain at Styers. It’s a flower and garden shop owned by Anthropologie that is absolutely inspiring to walk through. What’s even better is their food. Every time I go to their cafe, they serve bread in little flower pots. I always thought that was a cute idea!

Flash forward to a few weeks ago when I was attending a Fiber Retreat and needed something to bring. I love cupcakes but for some reason I felt like doing something different. I’m really trying to work on my decorating skills, primarily flowers, and I thought of the idea to bake cupcakes inside of flower pots and decorate them with flowers on top. I went to my local Ace to get some mini pots and was disappointed that they only had 4-inch clay pots. Still determined to see my goal happen, I got the larger pots and decided to figure it out as I went along.

Before you try this, make sure you are using untreated clay pots! I cut little pieces of parchment paper and put them in the bottom of the pots to stop the batter from seeping out. Since these were larger pots, the cake took forever to bake!! I’m talking 50 minutes.

Here is the final product:

I loved it! I think despite my poor flower decorating abilities, they came out pretty cute. I’m still learning how to use the petal tips and for the life of me I couldn’t figure out how to get them close enough to not have a space in the center. But, nothing a little Sixlet can’t fix. I also should have waited for the cake to cool down before I baked them because the icing started to run a little. Oh well, live and learn!

Grades:

Cake: A

Decorating: B-

Originality: A!!

Leave a Reply

