Valentine’s Day Festivities

I love holidays!!! Nothing makes me happier than having a celebration to decorate for, and to bake for! This week’s occasion was Valentine’s day. I had all intentions of making something eloquent, but I realized my boyfriend doesn’t really eat baked goods and all I wanted was regular cupcakes. So this recipe isn’t new, but I wanted to share the festivity. I did a basic chocolate cake recipe with cream cheese icing.

here is the recipe for my basic chocolate cake recipe: (It’s super moist!)

Moist Chocolate Cake (for 12 cupcakes)

1.5 cups of flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1. tsp. salt
3 tbs. cocoa powder

(mix those together in a separate bowl.)

Then mix together:

1 cup of sugar
1 tbs. white vinegar
1 cup of water
1/3 cup of oil
1 tsp. of Vanilla

Then add the flour mixture to the second mixture and you’re set!
Bake for 15 minutes at 350 degrees

Cream Cheese icing

For 12 cupcakes, I used 2 packages of cream cheese. I whipped the cream cheese in my mixer and slowly added powdered sugar until I thought it tasted good. I also added a pinch of vanilla.

Results:

Tasty as always! I wanted to practice making roses with my icing (on some of them, others I did a regular icing design). I think it turned out okay. I could definitely use some work on that part. Overall, I was pleased with the festive part!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Grades:

Cake: A

Icing: A

Decorating: A-

Leave a Reply

