Birthday cake for all!

So this week hasn’t been easy. I found out early this week that my Grandma passed away, so needless to say it hasn’t been great. But when my boyfriend’s parents said they were going to come for dinner this week, I jumped on the idea to bake a cake.

I decided to go with a basic 1-2-3-4 cake and buttercream icing. The recipe is my grandma’s, so I knew I had to make it!

It’s so easy.

1 cup of butter
2 cups of sugar
3 cups of flour
4 eggs
3 tsp of baking powder
1/4 tsp of salt
1 tsp of vanilla

Cream butter and sugar together. Add the eggs. Then the rest.
Bake for 30 minutes at 350.

Here is my Grandma’s recipe (note the gorgeous handwriting!)

download_20150128_181357
So… funny story. I made this yesterday but I took it out of the oven too early because I was confident it was done. Nope! It wasn’t until I was cutting the top off that I realized it wasn’t. So today I baked a new one. I kept mine in for 35 and it was perfect.

Basic buttercream icing: Cream 3 sticks of butter and slowly add powdered sugar until it tastes right. add a pinch of vanilla extract.

Decorating: I used a star cookie cutter to keep the sprinkles in that shape. It looks great!

Ratings:
Perfect! My boyfriend’s family said it wasn’t too sweet, and it was very moist! Also, the buttercream icing was so fluffy and not overly sweet!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The decorating wasn’t my best. I learned I truly don’t enjoy decorating cakes because it’s so hard to get a smooth icing all the way around, especially the sides! But it didn’t look terrible. Certainly not up to my cupcake standards, though. I also can’t draw a straight line apparently because my circle stars around are so not circular!!

Ratings:
Cake: A
Icing: A+
Decorating: C

2 thoughts on “Birthday cake for all!

  1. Your copy looks like it says “baking sugar”. Your beloved Grandmother’s recipe is written “baking powder”.

    I’m sorry for your loss, but what a lovely memory. I enjoy looking at my grandmothers’ recipe cards, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

