Tres Leches Cake

I’m lactose intolerant, so it seems crazy that I would make a Tres Leches Cake. But my boyfriend has begged for it for about a year now and I wanted to surprise him. Let me tell you something, Tres Leches Cake isn’t easy.

The cake involves separating the egg yolks and the egg whites and slowly folding them together once everything is ready. After it’s baked, you have to pour this mixture of 3-milks (hence the Tres Leches) on the cake and basically soak it. Then you top it off  with a whipped cream icing.

Here is the recipe I followed.

Some notes:

  • It wasn’t as hard as I expected.
  • The cake itself was really easy.
  • You don’t have to make as much 3-milk cream because I only used about 1/3 of it tops.
  • The whipped cream icing was fairly difficult to make and hard to put on the cake without it falling. I don’t think I whipped it enough, but I was scared of making it too liquidly.

Results: 

It looks nice! Better than I thought! I can’t comment on the taste, because I can’t have it. But I will report back what the boyfriend says!

edit: Boyfriend and his friends loved it. They ate it about 2 days after I made it so it could have been a little more moist (or maybe I could have poured more milk onto the cake…) but overall they loved the flavor. Three men devoured half a cake in an hour!

Side Note: It was my first layered cake! That’s exciting!

20150114_214842

Leave a Reply

