A cupcake in an ice cream cone!

When I was in kindergarten, my mom made cupcakes in ice cream cones for my birthday. To my 5-year-old self, it was the coolest thing ever. I haven’t forgotten about them since that day. Finally, about 20 years later, I had to try it myself!

Recipe: My basic chocolate cake recipe. Basic vanilla icing. Ice cream cones.

Directions: I used my basic chocolate cake recipe. you then pour the batter into the cupcake cones and fill up to the second rim  on the cone. To keep the cones in place, cover a cupcake pan with aluminum foil. Where each of the cupcakes would go, poke a small hold and place the cone in it to keep it up right. Make sure you don’t put too big of a hole so it doesn’t wobble. Bake your cupcakes as if they were baking normal. I found I had to keep it in my over a little longer but that’s the only difference I found. Then decorate it after it cools!

Pics:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Grades:

Cake: Always an A

Icing/Decorating: B+  I used a new decorating tool that was a bit easier. I still need to work on my rosettes! But I don’t think they are too bad right now. I can’t wait to learn some new techniques!

Overall: A-

One thought on “A cupcake in an ice cream cone!

Leave a Reply

