A cookie in a cupcake!

I was browsing Reddit the other day and found a picture of a chocolate-chip cooking dough – stuffed cupcake on the Baking subreddit and I knew I had to try it!!! The goal is to cook the cupcake and have the inside still be “gooey” cookie dough. I searched around for the recipe and landed on this one.

One thing to note is I did not use a yellow-boxed cake, I used my own chocolate cake recipe. I could never get myself to make a boxed cake!!! The recipe for the chocolate cake is as follows:

Moist Chocolate Cake (for 12 cupcakes)

1.5 cups of flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1. tsp. salt
3 tbs. cocoa powder

(mix those together in a separate bowl.)

Then mix together:

1 cup of sugar
1 tbs. white vinegar
1 cup of water
1/3 cup of oil
1 tsp. of Vanilla

Then add the flour mixture to the second mixture and you’re set!
Bake for 15 minutes at 350 degrees

So in summary: I made the chocolate chip cookie dough from the recipe. Then I made them into little balls and froze them for 2 hours. (Note: They need to be frozen completely before baking!). Then I made the cupcake batter and put one of the frozen cookie dough balls on top of the cupcake batter before baking. I pushed them down into the batter a little to make sure they would be covered when baking. I then made cream cheese icing to top it off! The results are as follows:

IMG_20140810_213750

And the inside: PERFECT!!! The cookie dough did not bake all the way and it was still “gooey”!!!!

IMG_20140810_214054

 

I would consider this a big success. I was worried the cookie dough batter would bake fully and it would be awkward to bite into, but it ended up being exactly how I wanted.

Grades:

Cake: A+ I cannot stress enough how this chocolate cake is soooo moist and rich and amazing. I’ll never use another recipe!!

Icing: B It was tasty but I made it too thick so my decorating didn’t end up being my finest work =(

Overall: A Everything was baked perfectly and was so tasty to eat!

I’m a happy baker!

IMG_20140810_215001

 

xoxo

The Working Baker

 

Leave a Reply

