Starting with the Classic

Everything I make usually involves chocolate. Chocolate is my weakness. Nearly every cupcake I have made has been some sort of a chocolate variety cupcake. This week I decided to switch it up a little and do a plain yellow cupcake (whoahh, I know, living life on the edge *sarcasm noted*.) The thing is, I do think yellow cupcakes are more difficult. They don’t require many ingredients, but a lot of them turn out either too dense or too dry.

I found my yellow cupcake recipe an old 2011 Better Homes and Garden Special Interest magazine called Cupcakes. I HIGHLY encourage you all to get this magazine if you can get your hands on it, as you will find that half of my recipes come from this. It’s filled with so many amazing amazing ideas and recipes.

image

Here is the recipe I used:
image

I halved the recipe so that’s important to note.

For the icing, I made it up as I went along. My mom taught me to make basic icing by letting a stick and a half (or however much works for you) sit to room temperature, then whip it in the kitchen aid until it looks whipped enough. Then slowly add powdered sugar, and a little bit of milk (I mean like a teaspoon) if it’s starting to get clumpy. Then add a little bit of vanilla (about a teaspoon.) for the chocolate part, I mixed in about a tablespoon or two of Hershey dark chocolate cocoa powder. Yum!! The thing about this icing Is that it can come out different every time depending how you want it. I made mine a little stiffer so the icing would sit well.

Results!!!
image

My thoughts: Visually, they looked awesome. Very classic. Exactly what I wanted. The icing was really tasty and I like the dark chocolate. The yellow cake came out a little dense for me. I halved the recipe so I had to put 2 eggs instead of 3 it called for, which is more than the technical 1.5 the half recipe would be. It stuck a little to the paper as well.

Overall grade:B

Other Notes: I really want to perfect my icing techniques. This style is so simple and usually always looks alright, but one of my goals is to improve on different ways to icing a cupcake.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

